NUS Medicine Awards 2020



Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine

CONGRATULATIONS to the recipients of NUS Medicine Awards 2020!

This ceremony recognises and celebrates the success and efforts of our employees' outstanding commitment and contributions to research, teaching and mentorship. Often going above and beyond the call of duty, these dedicated individuals have done NUS Medicine proud.





Faculty Teaching Awards (Teaching Excellence Award / Educator of the Year Award)

This annual award recognises faculty members who have shown a high level of performance, dedication and commitment to teaching. It also serves as an indication of the importance the institution accords to teaching.

Teaching Excellence Award

Recipient

A/Prof He Hong-gu
A/Prof Serena Koh Siew Lin
A/Prof Wang Wenru
Dr Chan Yah Shih @ Erean Chen
Dr Loh May-Han
Dr Pan Ling Te Terry
A/Prof Srinivasan Dinesh Kumar
Dr Inthrani Raja Indran
Prof Reshma Taneja

Educator of the Year Award

Recipient

Dr Pan Ling Te Terry

Department

Alice Lee Centre for Nursing Studies
Anaesthesia
Anaesthesia
Anatomy
Pharmacology
Physiology

Department

Anaesthesia







(Research Excellence Award / Researcher of the Year Award / Young Researcher of the Year Award)

The Faculty Research Awards recognise staff members for their continued excellence and leadership in research over their years of service in NUS Medicine.

Research Excellence Award

Recipient

A/Prof Takaomi Sanda A/Prof Heng Chew Kiat Dr Ling Shuo-Chien

Researcher of the Year Award

Recipient

Prof Dario Campana

Young Researcher of the Year Award

Recipient

Dr Malleret Benoit Joel Bruno

Department

Medicine Paediatrics Physiology

Department

Paediatrics

Department

Microbiology & Immunology







Teaching Excellence Award (Department)

This annual award is to promote good teaching culture and recognise departments with outstanding teaching contributions to NUS Medicine.

Recipient

Department of Anatomy

Special Recognition Award

This award is presented to tutors who inspire our medical students throughout their learning journey.

Recipient

A/Prof Ti Lian Kah
Prof Rajendran Kanagasuntheram
A/Prof Voon Chee Tet Francis
A/Prof Su Lin Lin
A/Prof Loh Kwok Seng
Dr Chen Ching Kit

A/Prof Tan Kong Bing
A/Prof Koh Dow Rhoon
A/Prof Ho Chun Man Roger

A/Prof Alfred Kow Wei Chieh

Department

Anaesthesia

Anatomy

Anatomy

Obstetrics & Gynaecology

Otolaryngology

Paediatrics

Pathology

Physiology

Psychological Medicine

Surgery









Graduate Mentor of the Year Award (GRAMAY)

This award honours and celebrates faculty staff for their excellence in graduate mentorship and the professional development of graduate students at NUS Medicine. The award is given to recognise the important key roles played by the faculty staff in inspiring and nurturing future biomedical-and clinician-scientists.

Recipient

A/Prof S Thameem Dheen
Prof Nicholas Robert John Gascoigne
Dr Deron Raymond Herr

Department

Anatomy
Microbiology & Immunology
Pharmacology

Best Graduate Research Publication Award

This award started in 2010 to recognise graduate students for their excellent contributions towards research in the School. The award is given to honour the top graduate students who published as first author in high impact journals.

Recipient

Dr Dominic Paul Lee Kok Sheng Miss Nguee Yee Teng Samantha Miss Natasha Vinanica Dr Lu Guang

Department

Medicine
Microbiology & Immunology
Paediatrics
Physiology









Yeoh Seang Aun Prizes

(in Tuberculosis and Infectious Diseases)

- Graduate Prize

This award honours the graduate student with the most outstanding research work done in tuberculosis and/or infectious diseases.

Recipient

Mr Saravanan S/O Gunaseelan

Department

Physiology

Outstanding Research Fellows Award

This award recognises the efforts and achievements of Research Fellows who have demonstrated excellence in research, service, mentoring and leadership, thus making a significant positive impact at NUS Medicine, and the scientific community at large.

Recipient

Dr Tan Kai Sen (Winner)
Dr Lim Tingsen Benson (First Runner-up)
Dr Teoh Phaik Ju (Second Runner-up)

Department

Otolaryngology
Paediatrics
Medicine







Some of the most critical mentors in science often go unrecognised. This award aims to celebrate Research Fellows in our community who have demonstrated outstanding commitment, effectiveness, and effort to consistently nurture and support the development of their mentees (students and /or research staff).

Recipient

Dr Chong Shu Yun Phyllis Dr Teoh Phaik Ju Dr Wong Lik Wei

Department

Medicine Medicine Physiology





Excellence

Recipient

Dr Yap Lai Lai Ms Lee Su Mei

Department

Research Office (Dean's Office)
Centre for Medical Education (Dean's Office)





Merit

Recipient Department

Dr Tessy Joseph Biosafety Level 3 (Dean's Office)

Mr Irwana Bin Maswari Biosafety Level 3 (Dean's Office)

Ms Kong Hao Yuin Biosafety Level 3 (Dean's Office)

Mr Mohan Prasanna Biosafety Level 3 (Dean's Office)

Ms Sindhu Ravindran Biosafety Level 3 (Dean's Office)

Dr Dujeepa Samarasekera Centre for Medical Education (Dean's Office)

Dr Lee Shuh Shing Centre for Medical Education (Dean's Office)

Mr Ang Chee Yen Centre for Medical Education (Dean's Office)

Ms Aseenah Bee Binte Mohamed Ibrahim Centre for Medical Education (Dean's Office)

Ms Lee Ai Lian Centre for Medical Education (Dean's Office)

Ms Lee Su Mei Centre for Medical Education (Dean's Office)

Ms Lim Yih Lin Centre for Medical Education (Dean's Office)

Morre

Ms Liu Jia Lin, Kyna

Ms Neo Hao Zhao

Mr Yeo Su Ping

Ms Loo Choy Hong, Emily





Merit

Recipient

Ms Bersalona Caroline Zamora

Ms Chiang Jie Yi Jacqueline

Ms Chong Yi Lin, Elaine

Miss Chong Xin Yu

Ms Chua Hong Hwee

Ms Chua Xiu Zhen, Kristal

Mr Goh Kong Wei

Ms Ho Hui Yi, Vania

Ms Huang Huifang Angeline

Ms Liu Ching Man

Ms Norhidayah Binte Mohamed Noor

Ms Nurul Fatin Binte Rosli

Ms Shelvi

Ms Wong Yee Hui, Joanne

Ms Ye Zhou, Jenn

Mr Joshua Ho How Hoang

Ms Lau Jia Jia, Laureen

Department

Education Division (Dean's Office)

Human Resources (Dean's Office)

Human Resources (Dean's Office)





Recipient

Dr Chua Yee Liu (Team Leader)
Mrs Bhanumathi Kandasamy

Ms Chew Yuan Yuan

Mdm Faridah Binte Markam

Mdm Kalimuthu Malihay

Mr Koh Yong Zher

Ms Shen Yanqing

Ms Siti Badariah Binte Mohamed Bakri

Ms Norhaizan Binte Mohamed Jasmin (Team Leader)

Ms Faraidhah Binte Nordin

Miss Liyana Binte Mohammad Hayat

Ms Noriszalifah Binte Ithnin

Department

Biochemistry

Biochemistry

Biochemistry

Biochemistry

Biochemistry

Biochemistry

Biochemistry

Biochemistry

Academic Affairs (Dean's Office)

Academic Affairs (Dean's Office)

Academic Affairs (Dean's Office)

Academic Affairs (Dean's Office)







The Long Service Award recognises the length of service, dedication and contributions of staff.

Recipient

Mrs Kalimuthu Malihay

Mrs Long Lee Hua

Ms Rohana Binte Din

Miss Koh Mui Hiang Jenny

A/Prof Ong Kian Chung, Benjamin

Mdm Seet Bee Leng

A/Prof Chow Tak Kwong, Vincent

Miss Nalini Srinivasan

Miss Siti Maryam Binte Masnor

Miss Chua Seok Eng

Mr Johari Bin Jani

Mr Thanasegaren s/o Tharumalingam

Mdm Vasanthi Nayagam

Prof Chew Tec Kuan, Paul

Mdm Chan Wai Kam

Ms Lee Siok Moi

Prof Quek Swee Chye

A/Prof Sethi, Sunil Kumar

Miss Asha Reka Das

Department

Biochemistry

Biochemistry

Finance (Dean's Office)

NIC (Dean's Office)

Medicine

Medicine

Microbiology & Immunology

Microbiology & Immunology

Microbiology & Immunology

Obstetrics & Gynaecology

Obstetrics & Gynaecology

Obstetrics & Gynaecology

Obstetrics & Gynaecology

Ophthalmology

Orthopaedic Surgery

Orthopaedic Surgery

Paediatrics

Pathology

Physiology

